2016 Peloton Gravel Mob

DZ and Robbie had great things to say about this ride last year so I had to jump aboard. Fortunately I was in town this weekend and the family was cool with me getting away again so at the crack of dawn Gideon, Robbie Dave and I piled into the 10 Speed Coffee truck and hit the road to Ojai.

Ryan Steers Dave Zabriskie Robbie Schaeffer Pedalers Fork 10 Speed Coffee Peloton Gravel Mob

It was a neutral rollout to Sulfur and then we regrouped for a few minutes…then it was go time. We hit the climb pretty hard and Dave, Marco and I got off the front. We pushed it just to open even more of a gap and then it was smooth sailing. About 45 minutes later we were cresting the top, grabbing water, and then heading down the pavement to the base of Sisar. I’d been looking forward to this climb for a while. It’s 8 miles and about 3000 feet of climbing so just my cup of tea. I programmed the live segment into my Garmin a few days before so I knew what I was in for. The bottom was a little rough on the CX bike with lots or big rocks and not a great line but by the time you hit the top it’s great fire road dirt. I felt awesome. I think it was the Topical Edge that Gideon gave me to slather on my legs beforehand. They were slippery but didn’t burn. Up the top we went.

Start Peloton Gravel Mob 2016

2016 Peloton Gravel Mob Ojai

More water at the aid station and then came the most spectacular views. You’re over 3k feet above Ojai looking down at the world. It was spectacular. We chilled out and enjoyed the view and then hit the few miles of singletrack back to the 33. The trail was a blast. Lots of exposure and tight turns; really really fun on the CX bike. Marco had the advantage on the MTB but he had a little crash and I was able to stay with him. Why he was trying to eat a gel on the trail is beyond me. Zabriskie disappeared behind us, I think he had a little crash and was starting to cramp. It was a really hot day and the Santa Ana winds were in full swing.

Ryan Steers 2016 Peloton Gravel Mob Ojai Winner

Marco and I flew down the 33. I had the bike advantage and threw in a little attack on the rollers into town. What a blast. The afterparty slowly gathered steam as people stuffed themselves with the all you can eat tacos. Only complaint- the beer cups were the size of a thimble. We were thirsty!

Gravel Mob Shop 2016 Ojai Taco

 

Leave a Reply

